Teen Thursday!

Happy Teen Thursday, y’all! Below, some exciting upcoming events and new releases to add to your TBR piles…

Kick off the summer with these amazing authors:

9780062642813_03502Emma Berquist – Thurs May 30 @ 7PM

We’re thrilled to welcome local author Emma Berquist back to BookPeople! She captivated readers with her debut, Devils Unto Dust, which people called West World meets The Walking Dead. Now she’s back with another thriller, a murder mystery with a paranormal twist! The ideal page-turner for the summer season– if you’ve got a thing for the dark side… Event details

Sarah Dessen – Tues June 4 @ 7PM

We love this perfect summer quiz released by Epic Reads in honor of Sarah Dessen’s new book, The Rest of the Story! Plan your beach day and get a book recommendation.

TAKE THE QUIZ!

quiz-dessenbeach

For our event with Sarah Dessen on June 4th, you can pre-order your copy of The Rest of the Story to receive a signing line ticket!

New Releases To Add to Your TBR Pile:

ACS_0341We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal

Bookseller Ta’necia knows author Hafsah Faizal and was even able to read an early version of We Hunt the Flame! Now, she’s a few chapters in and sooo excited to finish it. We know several members of our Teen Press Corps are also huge fans of Faizal through her amazing bookstagram, and We Hunt the Flame was one of their most anticipated titles of 2019! In this YA fantasy– the first in the Sands of Arawiya trilogy– a huntress dresses as a boy in a tournament where the Prince of Death is tasked to kill her… unless the prize does first! Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi.

Don’t Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno

This book comes beloved by Kids bookseller Natasha, who says: “This book is magical, 9781368039703lyrical, and dynamic. With each page, I became more and more of a part of the small south Floridian town of Port Coral. I could see the viejitos sitting outside the cafe, drinking coffee, smoking cigars, exchanging chisme; I could smell the fresh guava pastelitos mixed with the salty breeze from the sea. For just a moment, I was home. I felt Rosa’s struggle to not be Latinx enough. It’s been a personal struggle for me too. I understood her desire to visit her native land, and stand where her grandfather stood. For me, this book was more than a cute love story, more than a story of family, it was a piece of my heritage that I could connect to. I loved every moment of this book, and I can’t wait to see what Nina Moreno does next. ”

 

ACS_0342We Contain Multitudes by Sarah Henstra

Bookseller MK loves this new novel that focuses on two teen boys, Jonathan and Adam, told through letters they write to each other. It’s been described as Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe meets I’ll Give You the Sun. Uhhhhhhhh yes, please. MK says: “This book took my heart, stomped on it, put it back together, and then stomped on it again. It is so beautiful and riveting. An absolutely perfect YA romance for the modern world. I read it in literally one night, and haven’t stopped thinking about it since.”

Paperback Pick!

ACS_0340

Jessica has a great recommendation for those of you who prefer a trusty paperback than a heavy hardcover! Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson revolves around Camila Flores, a Mexican Wiccan out to get revenge on her best friend’s murderer. After bringing her BFF back to life, she accidentally brings back two of the most popular girls in school who died as part of a “suicide pact”. Think Veronica Mars meets The Craft with a proud fat Mexican lead. Former bookseller Shannon called it “brilliant, bold, and badass” and Jessica deems it “irresistible”.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s