THIS FRIDAY: Helen Thorpe

Helen Thorpe stops by BookPeople this Friday, January 19 at 7 PM to discuss her new book, The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship, and Hope in an American Classroom. Adolescence is a hard enough period for anyone, but can you imagine going through your high school years as an immigrant? When you walk into a classroom … Continue reading THIS FRIDAY: Helen Thorpe

New Releases 1/16

Red Clocks by Leni Zumas: In RED CLOCKS, Leni Zumas imagines a future in which women's reproductive rights are fiercely regulated--abortion is illegal and dangerous, in-vitro fertilization has been criminalized, and no one may adopt unless partnered. Beautifully written, Zumas' story is perfect for readers of Margaret Atwood and Octavia Butler. Our booksellers are so … Continue reading New Releases 1/16

Mandy Mikulencak on self-doubt, John Irving & writing in bed

Mandy Mikulencak stops by BookPeople Saturday, January 20 @ 2 PM to discuss her new novel, The Last Suppers. Set in 1950s Louisiana, the book tells the story of Ginny Polk, a penitentiary worker tasked with preparing final meals for death row inmates. BP: What are you reading these days? MM: I just finished Into the Water … Continue reading Mandy Mikulencak on self-doubt, John Irving & writing in bed

Get uncomfortable at BookPeople: Jan. 23

The Uncomfortable Reads Book Club meets the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7 PM in the BookPeople café. All those open to expanding their worldviews are encouraged to attend.  Join Jason and Aleks for The Uncomfortable Reads Book Club on Tuesday, January 23. They'll be be talking about The Way to the Spring: Life and … Continue reading Get uncomfortable at BookPeople: Jan. 23

BookKids kicks off 2018 with LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

The Kids team is kicking off the new year with love and great books! Here, a look at our latest display, inspired by our upcoming event with Newbery Medal winning author Matt de la Peña and New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long on Saturday, January 20 @ 11:30 AM. When we got our hands … Continue reading BookKids kicks off 2018 with LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

Teen Thursday: Signed books, ‘Sabrina the Teenage Witch’ & more!

THE ADVENTURE STARTS TONIGHT!!! What's better than just picking up a new release? Picking up a SIGNED new release! Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner will be in store TONIGHT for a speaking/signing, starting at 7 PM ... And you are definitely not gonna want to miss Unearthed! Here's why:  When Earth intercepts a message from a … Continue reading Teen Thursday: Signed books, ‘Sabrina the Teenage Witch’ & more!

Explore: German magazines

We carry periodicals from all over the globe. Below, Cindy explores our German selection.  Sogar 12 verschiedene Ausgaben davon! Magazines are perfect for so many things -- practicing language skills, keeping up with current events, seeing the world through a new lens and fulfilling New Year's resolutions. I'm partial to German publications. Spiegel frequently releases … Continue reading Explore: German magazines

Top Shelf: ‘The Immortalists’ by Chloe Benjamin

Every month, we choose a new book to really get behind and display on our metaphorical Top Shelf. Our hope is that you’ll read this title and encourage others to do the same, creating a sort of ripple effect. Join us on our mission to build a community bound by books! Simon. Klara. Daniel. Varya. … Continue reading Top Shelf: ‘The Immortalists’ by Chloe Benjamin

Literary Links: Short story dispensers, NPR recommendations & more!

A roundup of the internet’s best literary news to make your Monday more tolerable. Some airports are installing short story dispensers! Click here to learn more. Jacqueline Woodson is the new National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. For the full story, click here.  USA Today put together a list of "10 books to read before they … Continue reading Literary Links: Short story dispensers, NPR recommendations & more!