Teen Thursday: Best of 2018

   Customer Appreciation Day – 1/1

 

hug gif.gif

We love our customers and we want to show it! Shop with us on Jan 1 and save 20% off your purchase!

Top Eighteen of 2018

 

The Contemporaries

 

American Panda by Gloria Chao

Four starred reviews for this incisive, laugh-out-loud contemporary debut about a Taiwanese-American teen whose parents want her to be a doctor and marry a Taiwanese Ivy Leaguer despite her squeamishness with germs and crush on a Japanese classmate. From debut author Gloria Chao comes a hilarious, heartfelt tale of how, unlike the panda, life isn’t always so black and white.

 

What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

A New York Times, USA Today, and Indie bestseller! Critically acclaimed and bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera combine their talents in this smart, funny, heartfelt collaboration about two very different boys who can’t decide if the universe is pushing them together—or pulling them apart.

 

Puddin’ by Julie Murphy

The irresistible companion to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dumplin’, now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, and a soundtrack by Dolly Parton! A story about unexpected friendship, romance, and Texas-size girl power, this is another winner from Julie Murphy.

 

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature! From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series comes a powerful, heartrending contemporary novel about fear, first love, and the devastating impact of prejudice.

 

Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! In this unforgettable debut novel, an Indian-American Muslim teen copes with Islamophobia, cultural divides among peers and parents, and a reality she can neither explain nor escape.

 

The Summer of Jordi Perez by Amy Spalding

Seventeen, fashion-obsessed, and gay, Abby Ives has always been content playing the sidekick in other people’s lives. While her friends and sister have plunged headfirst into the world of dating and romances, Abby’s been happy to focus on her plus-size style blog and her dreams of taking the fashion industry by storm. When she lands a great internship at her favorite boutique, she’s thrilled to take the first step toward her dream career. Then she falls for her fellow intern, Jordi Perez. Hard. And now she’s competing against the girl she’s kissing to win the coveted paid job at the end of the internship.

 

Darius The Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius doesn’t think he’ll ever be enough, in America or in Iran. Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut introduces a brilliant new voice in contemporary YA. Adib Khorram’s brilliant debut is for anyone who’s ever felt not good enough—then met a friend who makes them feel so much better than okay!

 

The Fantasies

 

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

 

Dread Nation by Justina Ireland

New York Times bestseller * Six starred reviews. At once provocative, terrifying, and darkly subversive, Dread Nation is Justina Ireland’s stunning vision of an America both foreign and familiar—a country on the brink, at the explosive crossroads where race, humanity, and survival meet.

 

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert 

Welcome to Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood—the fiercely stunning New York Times bestseller with seven starred reviews everyone is raving about! When Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get.

Archenemies by Marissa Meyer

The Renegades Trilogy continues, in this fiercely awaited second installment after the New York Times-bestselling Renegades by Marissa Meyer, author of the Lunar Chronicles. In this second installment of the Renegades trilogy, Nova, Adrian, and the rest of their crew—Ruby, Oscar, and Danna—are faced with escalating crime in Gatlon City, while covert weapons and conflicting missions have Nova and Adrian questioning not only their beliefs about justice, but also the feelings they have for each other.

 

Everless by Sara Holland

New York Times bestseller! Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel’s breathtaking action, incredible romance, and dangerous secrets.

 

Muse of Nightmares by Laini Taylor

The highly anticipated, thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Strange the Dreamer, from National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy. Love and hate, revenge and redemption, destruction and salvation all clash in this gorgeous sequel.

 

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black 

An instant bestseller! By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue.

 

 

The Thrillers

 

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Four starred reviews from Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, and Publishers Weekly! A missing girl on a journey of revenge. A Serial-like podcast following the clues she’s left behind. And an ending you won’t be able to stop talking about. Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

 

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessel

From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film comes an absorbing psychological suspense thriller in which fears are physical and memories come alive.

 

 

glimmer of hope

 

The Non-Fiction

 

Glimmer of Hope by March For Our Lives 

Glimmer of Hope is the official, definitive book from The March for Our Lives founders. In keeping up with their ongoing fight to end gun-violence in all communities, the student leaders of March for Our Lives have decided not to be paid as authors of the book. 100% of net proceeds from this book will be paid to March For Our Lives Action Fund. Glimmer of Hope tells the story of how a group of teenagers raced to channel their rage and sorrow into action, and went on to create one of the largest youth-led movements in global history.

 

 

Happening Soon at BookPeople

 

Holly Black

the wicked king

Sunday, January 13 at 2 pm

 

Kiersten White

slayer

Tuesday, January 15 at 7 pm

 

Patrick Ness

and the ocean was our sky

Wednesday, January 30 at 7 pm

Angie Thomas

on the come up

Friday, February 15 at 7 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s