New Releases – 2/4

HARDCOVER FICTION

By Blood We Live by Glen Duncan

From the author of the best sellers The Last Werewolf and Talulla Rising, comes the hair-raising conclusion to the saga that has galvanized readers’ imaginations and one last incisive–brilliantly ironic–look at what it means to be, or to not be, human.

Glen Duncan will be at the store on Tuesday, Feb 18 at 7PM speaking & signing copies of By Blood We Live. The speaking portion of the event is free & open to the public. A ticket is required to join the signing line & is only available through purchasing a copy of By Blood We Live from BookPeople.

One More Thing: Stories & Other Stories by B.J. Novak

B.J. Novak’s One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories is an endlessly entertaining, surprisingly sensitive, and startlingly original debut that signals the arrival of a brilliant new voice in American fiction.

B.J. Novak will be in the store on Wednesday, Mar 12 at 7PM speaking & signing copies of One More Thing. The speaking portion of the event is free & open to the public. A ticket is required to join the signing line and is available only through purchase of One More Thing from BookPeople.

Twisted Sisters by Jen Lancaster

“Known for her witty memoirs, including The Tao of Martha , Lancaster’s funny, snarky style also shines in novels. Her latest features Reagan, a psychologist on a motivational television show. Though she’s successful professionally, her personal life would benefit if she took some of the advice she doles out to others.” – Booklist

Jen Lancaster will be in the store TONIGHT at 7PM speaking & signing copies of Twisted Sisters. Find more information here & pre-order your signed copy of the book.

Strange Bodies by Marcel Theroux

“Spirits are being transplanted into different bodies, there are spies, there’s a conspiracy in Kazakhstan, partially conveyed via letters and journals. Bizarre, definitely unusual and definitely entertaining. I really liked it.” — Raul

HARDCOVER NONFICTION

Glitter & Glue: A Memoir by Kelly Corrigan

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Middle Place comes a new memoir that examines the bond—sometimes nourishing, sometimes exasperating, occasionally divine—between mothers and daughters.

PAPERBACK FICTION

Murder Below Montparnasse by Cara Black

A long-lost Modigliani portrait, a grieving brother’s blood vendetta, a Soviet secret that’s been buried for 80 years—Parisian private investigator Aimée Leduc’s current case is her most exciting one yet.

Cara Black will be at the store on Sunday, Mar 9 at 1PM speaking & signing the latest in the series, Murder in Pigalle. Get more information on the event & pre-order a signed copy of Murder in Pigalle by clicking here.

The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud

From the bestselling author of The Emperor’s Children, a masterly new novel: the riveting confession of a woman awakened, transformed and betrayed by a desire for a world beyond her own.

Claire Messud will be in the store on Thursday, Mar 27 at 7PM speaking & signing copies of The Woman Upstairs. The speaking portion of the event is free & open to the public. A ticket is required to join the signing line & is only available through purchasing a copy of The Woman Upstairs from BookPeople.

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra

“I started reading this novel — and fell headlong into the hardscrabble, bleak world of war-tattered Chechnya, carried on the page-turning current of Anthony Marra’s sweepingly beautiful prose. Especially recommended for lovers of rich, transporting, literary writers like Tea Obrecht and Nicole Krauss. — Margaret

The Free by Willy Vlautin

“The Free is a story about a handful of characters whose lives intersect in sometimes brief moments, but always in meaningful, life affirming ways. Willy speaks plainly about hard truths and you can always trust him to take you to the brink of humanity and reel you back in just in time.” –Carolyn

The Miniature Wife: & Other Stories by Manuel Gonzales

In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena. The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales’s exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary.

PAPERBACK NONFICTION

The Searchers: The Making of an American Legend by Glenn Frankel

In 1836 in East Texas, nine-year-old Cynthia Ann Parker was kidnapped by Comanches. Cynthia Ann’s story has been told and re-told over generations to become a foundational American tale. Glenn Frankel, beginning in Hollywood and then returning to the origins of the story, creates a rich and nuanced anatomy of a timeless film and a quintessentially American myth.

e8e8c6188dbe11e39566124601188fc6_8

HARDCOVER YOUTH

Wildwood Imperium: The Wildwood Chronicles, Book III by Colin Meloy & Carson Ellis

From Colin Meloy, lead singer of the Decemberists, and Carson Ellis, acclaimed illustrator of The Mysterious Benedict Society, comes the stunning third book in the bestselling fantasy-adventure series the Wildwood Chronicles.

Colin Meloy & Carson Ellis will be at the store tomorrow – Wednesday, Feb 5 at 7PM– speaking & signing copies of Wildwood Imperium. The speaking portion of the event is free & open to the public. A ticket is requried to join the signing line & is only available through purchasing a copy of Wildwood Imperium from BookPeople.

Cress: The Lunar Chronicles #3 by Marissa Meyer

In Cress, the third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet and Wolf’s hope to overthrow Queen Levana lies with Crescent, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company.

Marissa Meyer will be at the store on Monday, Feb 17 at 7PM speaking & signing copies of Cress. Get more information on the event & pre-order your signed copy here.

One thought on “New Releases – 2/4

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s