Teen Thursday: YA Covers Good Enough to Eat!

We look at some delicious YA covers, which are perfect for the summer season…


Food and books are my favorite things, so I’m really into this trend of book covers with food on them. What a way to draw me to the shelf! Here we look at some old and new faves with covers that will make you drool, inspire your inner chef, or just get ya running to the ice-cream truck!

Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan

9780525516255Y’all, that’s a hot dog on the cover. OK, I mean, we had to include this, it’s called Hot Dog Girl and it’s freakin’ hilarious. A perfect summer read about kids working at the local amusement park, TPC member Ivy called this “one of the best, if not the best, summer romance novels I’ve ever read.” Check out his full review here (and that amazing aesthetic collage he made specifically for the post)!

 

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

9780062662835Elizabeth Acevedo blew us all away with her debut, The Poet X, but her second novel, With the Fire on High did NOT disappoint. Main character Emoni has a natural cooking talent– un sazón natural, my mom would call it– and uses it to relieve some stress in the kitchen. While juggling school and life as a teenage mom, she’s also actively looking to learn more about cooking and eventually ends up in a culinary arts class that leads her to Spain! One of my favorite lines in the book: “And that if everything else goes wrong, a little squeeze of lime and a bottle of hot sauce ain’t never hurt nobody.” Amen!

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

9781481478694OK sure, it’s not food, but there’s something about an iced latte in the middle of a hot day that sounds SO GOOD! When Dimple Met Rishi is a sweet and smart contemporary novel about two Indian-American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage. Meghan is a fan and says: “Dimple’s dreams include computer coding camp, Stanford, and designing her own app. They do not include finding an ‘Ideal Indian Husband.’ Terrific characters, easy banter, and nuanced explorations of family, love, culture, and identity make this romance a satisfying and highly entertaining beach read.”

Hungry Hearts, edited by Elsie Chapman & Caroline Tung

9781534421851As I mentioned before, books + food = <3, so when I heard of a collection of food-inspired short stories from some of the most incredible YA authors such as Sandhya Menon, Anna-Marie McLemore, and Adi Alsaid… I knew I had to have it! Plus, the cover is irresistible, with a steamy bowl of ramen luring you into its pages. Definitely make sure you have food close by while you’re diving into Hungry Hearts!

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

9781442435018This has two girls eating ice-cream on the cover– what’s more summer snack-y than that?! Morgan Matson is a master at contemporary summer classics, and Since You’ve Been Gone is no exception. A great book on friendship, self acceptance, and bravery, this was a big TPC fave when it came out– member Abby called it “a touching story of self-discovery and betrayal”. Instantly hooked.

 

Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

9781481432559It’s not ice-cream guys, it’s gelato! So we’re not repeating ourselves… I mean, I had to include Jenna Evans Welch’s Love & Gelato— it has a yummy cover AND the story’s set in Italy, one of my favorite places on this earth. Food, family secrets, and Tuscany, there’s nothing else I could ask for! This book is one of those quintessential, anything-can-happen summer reads that I love. Great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han! The TPC was able to interview the author at Texas Teen Book Festival a while back. Check it out here.

Do YOU have any great foodie YA reads?! Share them below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s