New Releases – 3/11/14

HARDCOVER FICTION

Stone Cold  by C. J. Box
Joe Pickett, still officially a game warden but now mostly a troubleshooter for the governor, is assigned to find out what the truth is about a mysterious man living on a massive ranch in the remote Black Hills of Wyoming, but he discovers a lot more than he’d bargained for. C. J. Box will be at the store Monday, Mar 17 at 7PM in conversation with David Hansard (One Minute Gone). Click here for more information & to order a signed, personalized signed copy of the book.

The Accident by Chris Pavone

MysteryPeople Pick of the Month! From Edgar Award-winner and bestselling author of The Expats, a thriller set in the world of book publishing about a mysterious, anonymous manuscript containing explosive revelations about powerful people.” Chris Pavone will be here at BookPeople Thursday, March 20 at 7pm! Click here for more information & to order a signed, personalized copy of the book.

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler

#1 Indie Next Pick for March! Set in Little Wing, Wisconsin, this debut novel focuses four friends born and raised there and brought back to town for a wedding. There will be heartbreak, but there will also be hope, healing, even heroism as these memorable people learn the true meaning of adult friendship and love.

Providence Rag by Bruce DeSilva

Edgar Award-winner Bruce DeSilva returns with Liam Mulligan, an old-school investigative reporter for a dying newspaper in Providence, Rhode Island. In Providence Rag, finds Mulligan, his pal Mason, and the newspaper they both work for at an ethical crossroad. Bruce DeSilva will be at BookPeople on Friday, Mar 28 at 7PM. Click here for more information & to order a signed, personalized copy of the book.

On Earth as It Is in Heaven by Davide Enia

First published in Italy in 2012. Set in Palermo, the early 1980s, this novel follows a Sicilian teenage boxer in a family of boxers. This is a dark, gripping coming-of-age tale that explores violence, friendship, family, and what it means to be a man.

Mentats of Dune by Brian Herbert & Kevin J. Anderson

The thinking machines have been defeated but the struggle for humanity’s future continues. The Mentats, the Navigators, and the Sisterhood all strive to improve the human race, but each group knows that as Butlerian fanaticism grows stronger, the battle will be to choose the path of humanity’s future–whether to embrace civilization, or to plunge into an endless dark age.

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart. Set in the Ozark Mountains, Lucy discovers a horrific secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.

HARDCOVER NONFICTION

Pete Rose: An American Dilemma by Kostya Kennedy

“Kennedy’s book on the tarnished and enigmatic Rose is exceptional. Like the best writing about sport–Liebling, Angell–it qualifies as stirring literature. I’d read Kennedy no matter what he writes about.” – author, Richard Ford

COOKING

The New Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison

A fully revised and expanded edition of the most comprehensive vegetarian cookbook ever published, with more than 400,000 copies in print, from America’s leading authority on vegetarian cooking.

PAPERBACK NONFICTION

With or Without You: A Memoir by Domenica Ruta

New York Times bestseller & one of Entertainment Weekly’s Ten Best Nonfiction Books of the Year. This is the story of Domenica Ruta’s unconventional coming of age–a darkly hilarious chronicle of a misfit ’90s youth and the necessary and painful act of breaking away, and of overcoming her own addictions and demons in the process.

The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win WWII by Denise Kiernan

An incredible true story of the top-secret World War II town of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, and the young women brought there unknowingly to help build the atomic bomb. Denise Kiernan will be at the store on Monday, Mar 24 at 7PM. Click here for more information & to pre-order your signed copy.

PAPERBACK FICTION

Evil in All It’s Disguises by Hilary Davidson

MysteryPeople pick of the day! A thrilling new tale by the winner of the Anthony Award. Lily Moore joins a group of travel journalists for an all-expenses-paid press trip to Mexico’s famous resort town of Acapulco. But the city, once the playground of Hollywood stars, is now a place of faded glamour and rising crime. Hilary Davidson is here at BookPeople on Thursday, Apr 24 at 7PM. Click here for more information & to pre-order your signed copy.

Eleven Days by Lea Carpenter

“Ms. Carpenter has written a novel that maps–much the way that Jayne Anne Phillips’s classic Machine Dreams and Bobbie Ann Mason’s I” did–the fallout that war has not just on soldiers, who put their lives on the line, but also on their families, who wait anxiously back home.” – New York Times

Red Doc> by Anne Carson

“Some years ago I wrote a book about a boy named Geryon who was red and had wings and fell in love with Herakles. Recently I began to wonder what happened to them in later life. Red Doc continues their adventures in a very different style and with changed names. To live past the end of your myth is a perilous thing.” – author, Anne Carson.

Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford

From Jamie Ford, author of the beloved Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, comes a much-anticipated second novel. Set against the backdrop of Depression-era Seattle, Songs of Willow Frost is a powerful tale of two souls–a boy with dreams for his future and a woman escaping her haunted past–both seeking love, hope, and forgiveness.

CHILDREN’S

Grandfather Gandhi by Arun Gandhi & by Bethany Hegedus.
Meghan G’s pick of the day!  “This remarkable picture book presents a uniquely personal look at a revered icon. As Gandhi the grandfather teaches his grandson to channel the darkness of his anger into the light of peace, readers are given an intimate glimpse of the great man within a universal story celebrating the personal challenges that make us human and the special ways each generation shares strength and wisdom with the next. Stunning mixed-media illustrations by Evan Turk make this inspirational book into a real collector’s piece.” – Meghan G.

One thought on “New Releases – 3/11/14

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s