Story Prize Finalists Announced

The Story Prize announced its three finalists today for this year’s award, which recognizes outstanding short fiction:

Tenth of December by George Saunders
Archangel by Andrea Barrett
Bobcat and Other Stories by Rebecca Lee

Some of us (maybe it was even perhaps the person typing up this post) have been gushing about Rebecca Lee for quite some time now: “I won’t shut up about this book, because here’s the thing – these stories aregood. Rebecca Lee is the new love of my reading life. I read the whole book on a flight from Kansas City to Austin. Sharp writing, unconventional scenarios, characters who are real. Lee’s sentences excited me. I’ve twisted the arm of everyone I know to read this collection. Lee’s talent will knock you over the head. You’ll be asking yourself the same thing I did when I finished this book: Rebecca Lee, where have you been all my life? ” 

The winner will be announced March 5 at an event in New York City. Previous winners of The Story Prize include Claire Vaye Watkins’ Battleborn and We Others: New & Selected Stories by Steven Millhauser. Interesting note: one of the judges of this year’s prize is Stephen Ennis, Director of Austin’s Harry Ransom Center.

Congrats to the nominees! And three cheers for the fine folks who run The Story Prize website for linking the “Buy This” options on the announcement page to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s