BookKids: Events & Highlights!

Don’t miss these amazing family-friendly events in August & September!


Kids Book Club with Austin Allies! – Sat, Aug. 17th @ 12:30 PM

9781534412569We’re thrilled to welcome special guest Samantha M. Clark to Kids book club! We’ll be discussing her book, The Boy, the Boat, and the Beast and asking her all of our burning questions. All kids ages 8-12 are welcome! Haven’t read the book? No worries! This is a great space to meet fellow book nerds and make new friends. Learn more about book club here.

Storytime with Jean Reidy! – Sat, Aug. 24th @ 10:30 AM

Truman the Turtle must cross the vast living room to wait for his 9781534416642best friend’s return. He’s ready to do what seems impossible! *gasp* Join us for storytime and sprinkled donuts to celebrate this great picture book about friendship and bravery. Jean Reidy can’t wait to meet you!

Storytime with Llama Llama! – Wed, Sept. 4th @ 10:30 AM

Mess Mess Mess hi-res

We’re counting the days ’til September 4th, when Llama Llama will come to storytime! We’re thrilled to celebrate the new title, where Llama Llama learns about cleaning up after herself! Join us in the Kids amphitheater at 10:30 AM and get your photos with this iconic character!

Mother Bruce signing with Ryan T. Higgins! – Tues, Sept. 10 @ 6 PM

9781368026222

We looooove the Mother Bruce series, and we’re so excited for the newest title, Bruce’s Big Storm! Author-illustrator Ryan T. Higgins will be here for a special reading and signing. We’ll have fun treats for you– join us at 6 pm. Event details here.

Find The Hidden Code with PJ Hoover! – Sat, Sept. 14 @ 2 PM9781944821913

Local author PJ Hoover will be here to reveal the ins and outs of writing this fast-paced thriller full of cracked codes and crazy twists! Come find your new favorite adventure story and get your book signed! Event details here.

Bring your BFF to meet Shannon Hale & LeUyen Pham! – Sun, Sept. 15 @ 2 PM

In case you missed it– we announced an EXTREMELY EXCITING EVENT last week: Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham (IRL BFFs in our minds) are coming to BookPeople to celebrate Best Friends, the follow-up to one of our all-time favorite graphic memoirs, Real Friends. Spend your Sunday afternoon at the bookstore– and don’t forget to bring your bestie! Get your signing line tickets here.

9-15_webslide_haleandpham

Meet debut author Bridget Farr! – Thurs, Sept. 19 @ 6:30 PM

9780316491068We love, love supporting our local authors and we’re thrilled to welcome the new kid on the block. Come support Austin debut author Bridget Farr and her middle grade novel, Pavi Sharma’s Guide to Going Home! Pavi has been bouncing from foster home to foster home, gathering her knowledge and turning it into a business– great for fans of Kate Beasley and Karina Yan Glaser.Learn more here. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s