TEEN THURSDAY: THANKFUL FOR BOOKS

It’s Thanksgiving and we’re working to load our bellies up with all kinds of delicious goodies!

 

charlie brown.gif

But, it’s important to take some time to remember what you’re thankful for…like books, books, and…well, more books! Here’s what’s out this week to add to the ever growing To Be Read…I mean, To Be Thankful For pile!

 

 

YOUR NEXT MOVIE TICKET

COMING IN MARCH OF 2019 IS A NEW MOVIE STARRING COLE SPROUSE (AKA THE JUGHEAD WE ALL KNOW AND LOVE) AND HALEY LU RICHARDSON! WANT TO KNOW WHAT THE STORY IS ALL ABOUT BEFORE YOU SEE THE MOVIE…GET THE BOOK NOW!

 

FIVE FEET APART

Five Feet Apart by Rachel Lippencott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions. The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals. Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment. What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

 

NEW TEEN FICTION 

SERIOUS TOPICS LEAD TO SERIOUS CONVERSATIONS…

 

ANY SECOND

Any Second by Kevin Emerson

Marieke Nijkamp’s This is Where it Ends meets Kathleen Glasgow’s Girl in Pieces in a gripping novel that explores the depths of trauma and the strength it takes to rise again. Perfect for readers of Ellen Hopkins.

Five years after being kidnapped, Elian’s captor sends him into the mall–with a bomb strapped to his chest. Across the mall is Maya, a girl whose crippling anxiety holds her prisoner in its own way.  Whether it’s chance or fate, Maya keeps Eli from ending them all. And now nothing is the same. Drawn together by their dark pasts, Maya and Eli know it takes only seconds for their entire worlds to change. But time will tell if meeting each other will change them for better or worse.

 

NEW TEEN NON-FICTION 

FOR THE CRAFTY TEEN-LIT LOVER WHO NEEDS ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE TO ADD A LITTLE SPARKLE TO THEIR DAY!

 

GLITTER

Glitter: A Celebration of Sparkles by Adams Media 

Indulge your shiny side and embrace your glitter obsession with this collection of all things sparkly—featuring history, trivia, quotes, and tips on how to use glitter safely and responsibly to decorate your clothes, your home, and your body! 

Once confined to the craft aisle and the hands of children between the ages of three and nine, glitter has migrated to adults of all ages and incomes—who enthusiastically decorate their hair, faces, and bodies with it, bathe in it, and, of course, craft with it. But glitter is more than something you use or look at, it’s a lifestyle—a state of mind for people who want to sparkle and shine inside and out. Glitter! is the perfect gift for those who are dedicated to adding sparkle to every aspect of their lives. Filled with tons of fun ideas for glittery craft projects—including glitter lip balm and eye shadow, glitter shoes, glitter bath bombs, glitter slime, glitter drinking glasses, and more!—as well as everything else you’ve ever wanted to know about glitter. Glitter! also includes four pull-out glitter-quote cards to frame and hang!

 

NEW TEEN FANTASY 

EPIC STORIES, EPIC CONCLUSIONS

 

THE DARK DAYS DECEIT

The Dark Days Deceit by Alison Goodman

The thrilling, genre-bending conclusion to Lady Helen’s demon-hunting adventures, set in the glittering Regency world.

Lady Helen has retreated to a country estate outside Bath to prepare for her wedding to the Duke of Selburn, yet she knows she has unfinished business to complete. She and the dangerously charismatic Lord Carlston have learned they are a dyad, bonded in blood, and only they are strong enough to defeat the Grand Deceiver, who threatens to throw mankind into chaos. But the heinous death-soaked Ligatus Helen has absorbed is tearing a rift in her mind. Its power, if unleashed, will annihilate both Helen and Carlston unless they can find a way to harness its ghastly force and defeat their enemy. In the final book of the trilogy that began with The Dark Days Club and continued with The Dark Days Pact, the intrepid Lady Helen’s story hurtles to a shocking conclusion full of action, heartbreak, and betrayal.

 

NEW TEEN GRAPHIC NOVEL 

A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS, BUT SOME PICTURES BRING EVEN MORE WORDS WITH THEM

watersnakes

Watersnakes by Tony Sandoval 

Three-time Eisner Award-nominated writer/artist Tony Sandoval presents a wondrous world of secret places and dreamlike magic hidden in the everyday corners of our sleeping imagination.

Mila is a solitary teenager ready to put another boring summer vacation behind her until she meets Agnes, an adventurous girl who turns out to be a ghost. And not just a regular ghost, but one carrying the essence of an ancient fallen king and a mouth full of teeth that used to be his guardian warriors. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s