Teen Thursday: 03.01.2018

WHO RUNS THE WORLD?

In honor of Women’s History Month we’re going to bring you some HER-stories every week! And one of the most empowering YA Her-stories out there right now is Jennifer Mathieu’s Moxie!

mathieu - Moxie

Trini from the Teen Press Corps says: 

“It teaches you to fight for what’s right and be true to yourself. It addresses the issue of is feminism a ‘dirty word’ and teaches you to love yourself. With modern culture and role models like Moxie, we really are raising a whole new generation of well-educated, headstrong feminists. Watch out, because you better learn to respect them.”

NEW RELEASES

 

Heart of Iron by Ashley Poston: An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

A Girl Like That by Tanaz Bhathena: Sixteen-year-old Zarin Wadia is many things: a bright and vivacious student, an orphan, a risk taker. She’s also the kind of girl that parents warn their kids to stay away from: a troublemaker whose many romances are the subject of endless gossip at school. You don’t want to get involved with a girl like that, they say. So how is it that eighteen-year-old Porus Dumasia has only ever had eyes for her? And how did Zarin and Porus end up dead in a car together, crashed on the side of a highway in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia? When the religious police arrive on the scene, everything everyone thought they knew about Zarin is questioned. And as her story is pieced together, told through multiple perspectives, it becomes clear that she was far more than just a girl like that. 

People Like Us by Dana Mele: A sharp psychological thriller that’s just right for fans of One of Us is Lying and Thirteen Reasons Why — this story will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you.

Hope Nation by various authors: We all experience moments when we struggle to understand the state of the world, when we feel powerless and — in some cases — even hopeless. The teens of today are the caretakers of tomorrow, and yet it’s difficult for many to find joy or comfort in such a turbulent society. But in trying times, words are power. Some of today’s most influential young adult authors come together in this highly personal collection of essays and original stories that offer moments of light in the darkness, and show that hope is a decision we all can make.

 

Authors coming to BookPeople this March:

 

 

TUESDAY, MARCH 20 @ 7 PM 

Farrah Penn – Twelve  Steps to Normal

THURSDAY, MARCH 22 @ 7 PM 

Neal Shusterman – Thunder Head

SATURDAY, MARCH 24 @ 2 PM 

Carolyn Cohagan – Time Next 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s