Austin Event – Kim Stanley Robinson at UT

kim_stanley_robinson_-_credit__sfxfuture_publishing_ltd_2005-0

Kim Stanley Robinson

I recently read Kim Stanley Robinson’s novel, 2312. Having never read Robinson’s work before, not even his acclaimed Mars Trilogy, I was a little unprepared for how epic in scope this book turned out to be. Not only was the world he envisioned broad in spectrum – encompassing a solar system completely populated with humans and their varied beliefs, lifestyle and political systems and conflicts – and beautifully written as well, but thematically he tackles issues like environmental sustainability, gender equality, sexuality, and economic & social justice. The novel utterly overwhelmed and engrossed me, and I have since been recommending this title to every friend of mine I know who is interested, even remotely, in science fiction.

He has written nineteen novels, won pretty much all the major science fiction awards, and is considered by some to be one of the greatest living science fiction authors. Readers who love Philip K. Dick and Ursula K. Le Guin should definitely give Kim Stanley Robinson a try. This incredible writer will lead a conversation about science fiction and the environment

Wednesday, April 13 from 5:00 to 6:30pm in the Glickman Conference Center at UT (CLA 1.302E).

Robinson is one of the most well­-known and respected science fiction writers in the world, with a reality ­based approach in the spirit of Isaac Asimov that has made him a social thinker speaking “for the future and from the future”.

For more details about the event, visit the official UT EVENTS page.

This even is free and open to the public, and co-Sponsored by the Polymathic Scholars Honors Program.

Directions to CLA 1.302E

All of the following titles, and many others by the author, are available now at Book People!

One thought on “Austin Event – Kim Stanley Robinson at UT

  1. Pingback: Austin Event – Kim Stanley Robinson at UT – aladin 2016 Scratch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s