New Releases

HARDCOVER FICTION

The Rathbones by Janice Clark
the rathbonesA gothic, literary adventure set in New England, Janice Clark’s haunting debut chronicles one hundred years of a once prosperous and now crumbling whaling family, told by its last surviving member.

 

 

 

 

 

PAPERBACK FICTION

A Thousand Pardons by Jonathan Dee
a thousand pardonsFor readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?

 

 

 

 

 

The Twenty Year Death by Ariel Winter
twentyA breathtaking first novel written in the form of three separate crime novels, each set in a different decade and penned in the style of a different giant of the mystery genre.

HARDCOVER NONFICTION

 

 

 

 

Turn Around Bright Eyes by Rob Sheffield
51I0NqylsKL._SY300_Turn Around Bright Eyes picks up Sheffield’s story right after Love Is a Mix Tape. He is a young widower devastated by grief, trying to build a new life in a new town after his wife’s death. As a writer for Rolling Stone, he naturally takes solace in music. But that’s when he discovers the sublime ridiculousness of karaoke, and despite the fact that he can’t carry a tune, he begins to find his voice.

Join us Wednesday, August 28th at 7PM for a night with author Rob Sheffield in conversation with Joe Gross from the Austin American-Statesmen, discussing Sheffield’s new book Turn Around Bright Eyes.

 

Lawrence in Arabia: War, Deceit, Imperial Folly and the Making of the Modern Middle East  by Scott Anderson
lawrence in arabiaA thrilling and revelatory narrative of one of the most epic and consequential periods in 20th century history – the Arab Revolt and the secret “great game” to control the Middle East. Sweeping in its action, keen in its portraiture, acid in its condemnation of the destruction wrought by European colonial plots, this is a book that brilliantly captures the way in which the folly of the past creates the anguish of the present.

 


PAPERBACK NONFICTION

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan
brain on fireAn award-winning memoir and instant New York Times bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity. In a swift and breathtaking narrative, Susannah tells the astonishing true story of her descent into madness, her family’s inspiring faith in her, and the lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didn’t happen.

Join us Tuesday, August 13th at 7PM for a night with Susannah Cahalan in conversation discussing and signing her book Brain on Fire.

 

Who I am: A Memoir by Pete Townshend
whoooo
Long acknowledged as one of rock music’s most intelligent and literary performers, Pete Townshend – guitarist, songwriter, singer and founding member of The Who – at last tells his wild story in this candid and immersive autobiography.

 

 

 

 

Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis by Timothy Egan
shortEdward Curtis was charismatic, handsome, a passionate mountaineer, and a famous portrait photographer, the Annie Leibovitz of his time. He moved in rarefied circles, a friend to presidents, vaudeville stars, leading thinkers. But when he was thirty-two years old, in 1900, he gave it all up to pursue his Great Idea: to capture on film the continent’s original inhabitants before the old ways disappeared.

 

 

 

Animals Talking in All Cap: It’s Just What it Sounds Like by Justin Valmassoi
animalsA goat who wants to sell you some meth.
A giraffe who might be violating his restraining order.
An alpaca with a very dirty secret.
A cat who’s really mad at you for cancelling Netflix instant.

These are just a few of the hilariously human animals you’ll meet in Animals Talking in All Caps. Inspired by the wildly popular blog of the same name and including some of the site’s best-loved entries as well as gobs of never-before-seen material, these pages provide a brilliantly unhinged glimpse into the animal mind.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s