Teen Thursday: Ah, the smell of new books!

Celebrating the beginning of fall with a LOT of new books & TTBF goodness!


New Releases

9781368022262Loki by Mackenzi Lee

Mackenzi Lee is a huge bookseller favorite, enchanting Thomas and Rachel R– just to name a few– with her previous books, Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy. Loki comes highly anticipated by several folks on staff, and even former booksellers like Jan, who says: “I’m obsessed with our favorite trickster god as a bisexual teen, solving magical murders in Victorian London. Spiritualism! Zombies! This book’s got it all! (Except dogs. There are no dogs in Asgard.)” Order it online!

9781335777096_9ad25Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite

This is such a wonderfully written, wildly fun new release which is all the buzz in the book world! Children’s Book Buyer Meghan says, “Sent to stay with extended family in Haiti after a school presentation gone wrong, Alaine Beauparlant digs deep into her family’s past in this exuberant epistolary novel filled with secrets and curses and loads of personality. Dear readers, we love Alaine!”  Order it online!

 

9780062686176Five Dark Fates by Kendare Blake

Tomoko is a longtime fan of Blake’s series, and has been waiting on pins and needles for this release! She says, “First of all, I have so much love for the cover design on this series–each one a masterpiece that perfectly evokes the crafty and cunning story. Detailed and atmospheric, with plenty of world and character development, each new book sucks you into the Fennbirn world and thrills with deadly trials and intricate political machinations. I’m so excited that the final book in this dark and complex world is finally here so I can binge read the entire quartet!” Order it online!

New & hot by authors coming to #TTBF2019:

9781534445970Permanent Record by Mary HK Choi

Mary H.K. Choi stole our booksellers hearts with her debut novel, Emergency Contact, a YA romance set right here in Austin that was whip-smart and funny, with two characters that have set camp in our heart for good. Permanent Record is one of the most highly anticipated titles for fall, and Eugenia managed to get her hands on it early. She says, “Mary HK Choi’s writing style is completely fresh, cool, and irresistible! Pablo’s voice is clear, even if his life path is not. After dropping out of NYU, Pablo Rind is aimless, working nights at his local bodega and avoiding his ever-growing pile of bills. One night, Leanna Smart, former Disney actress and pop superstar, walks into his bodega, chats him up about snacks (his one true passion), and changes his life forever. Choi smartly dives into the ups and downs of social media and how it alters our relationships, all while focusing on that terrifying and exciting time known as our 20s. A fun, fantastical romance that isn’t afraid to get messy, Permanent Record gets real on family expectations, student debt, and more.” Order it online!

Teen Press Corps member Ivy reviewed Permanent Record over on the TPC blog– here’s a taste:

Whip-smart and whip-fast, the jokes in Permanent Record are skim-and-you’ll-miss-them. It’s the polar opposite of performative comedy –  all in wording and nothing to do with delivery (as on the page there is none). This is a brilliant way to write because unless you’re listening to an audiobook, the characters aren’t going to actually speak. It’s clever absurdities and well-written anecdotes that are going to draw a print audience’s attention.” 

Read his full review here!

9780062229212_11dd1-1Butterfly Yellow by Thanhha Lai

We love Newbery medalist Thanhha Lai’s writing, and Ellen has been waiting patiently for this release. She says, “I could not put this book down. Linh feels responsible for the loss of her brother, who was taken to America at the end of the Vietnam war, and she is determined to get him back. Her traumatic and tragic journey across the sea is based on real accounts of refugees fleeing Vietnam after the war. Linh never loses hope and is so, so, so brave. Her bravery and determination finally her get her to where she wants to go – the panhandle of Texas. Not knowing much English, or where to find her brother beyond an outdated address, Linh is in need of help. LeeRoy, an aspiring cowboy, crosses her path and they are become unlikely allies and friends. A few other memorable characters enter Linh’s story and provide her safe refuge as she waits to reconcile with her brother. She also struggles with emotional and physical healing, and self-forgiveness, which will clearly be a life-long process for her. This story complex, emotional, moving, but also surprising warm, funny, and above all, hopeful. Linh is a girl you will not forget in this beautiful and poetic book by Thanhha Lai.” Order it online here!

9781250211750There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

Another TTBF author, Katy Rose Pool is a debut author whose novel, There Will Come a Darkness, has already been getting all the praise! Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Throne of Glass, Pool welcomes you into a new world of fantasy, dark magic, and corruption. Order it online here!

Upcoming Events

Kathryn Gonzales & Karen Rayne – Sunday, September 8 at 2PM, signing TRANS+

TRANS_Web (1)

P.J. Hoover – Saturday, September 14 at 2PM, signing The Hidden Code

Hoover_Web

TTBF – Saturday, October 7 ALL DAY

ttbf-author-lineup-2-01

Leigh Bardugo – Tuesday, October 15 at 7PM, signing Ninth House
@ Central Presbyterian Church

unnamed (4).png

GET YOUR TICKETS HERE

Markus Zusak – Thursday, October 17 at 7PM, signing Bridge of Clay

ZusakWeb_Web (1)

GET YOUR TICKETS HERE!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s