Teen Thursday!

Happy Teen Thursday, book friends!!! 

Don’t miss our last YA event in April:

Ashley Poston – Wednesday 4.17 @ 7PM

Come geek out with us at BookPeople! Event details

Poston_Web

Of The Princess and the Fangirl, former BookPeople bookseller Shannon B. says, “No matter your fandom you will find your family in its pages.”

Y’all. We got SIGNED BOOKS!

LHA_5.png

We had an amazing evening with YA royalty, Laurie Halse Anderson, and former Texas Senator Wendy Davis! They read several poems from Laurie’s incredible new memoir, SHOUT, and spoke about the importance of getting comfortable with our bodies, talking about consent, and so much more. It was an emotional, powerful night and a true privilege to host these women!

We have signed copies of SHOUT online and in-store. While supplies last, you can get a beautiful print of one of LHA’s poems with your order!

We were able to host Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu on the actual release day of their book,  IMG_2032The Red Scrolls of Magic! It was such a fun night and a great conversation– they clearly have similar sense of humor. Oh, and Cassie did trivia and gave out amazing prizes like Magnus plushies (!!!) and Advanced Readers Copies of Ghosts of the Shadow Market, which is coming in June! You can pre-order that book here. And good news, y’all! We have copies of Red Scrolls signed by BOTH Cassie and Wes online and in-store. Claim yours now!

A few new releases we’re excited for!
Check out more on our Insta Stories (@bookpeople)

9781101934753_c4336How to Make Friends with the Dark by Kathleen Glasgow

We’re huge fans of Girl in Pieces, so we’ve been dying to get our hands on Kathleen Glasgow’s new book! Our buyer Meghan is halfway through this contemporary novel centered around Tiger, who loses her mother and is trying to figure out– well, everything. How do you go on after you lose the person closest to you? How to Make Friends with the Dark explores loss, grief, and heartbreak with honesty and beautiful storytelling. We’re proud to host Kathleen Glasgow as part of our school events program in a couple of weeks.

Girls on the Verge by Sharon Biggs Waller

9781250151698_a8c9d

When Camille learns she got into the theater camp of her dreams, she also finds out she’s pregnant. With few resources at her disposal, Camille decides to go on a road trip to get an abortion and brings two friends with her– her best friend Bea, who’s struggling with Camille’s decision, and Annabelle, a girl she barely knows but surprises her with much needed support. Set in Texas, this novel is a difficult but important read, with characters that you won’t soon forget.

9780735228078_6b0d7This Book is Not Yet Rated by Peter Bognanni

We hosted Peter Bognanni in partnership with TTBF for his debut YA novel, Things I’m Seeing Without You and were instantly obsessed! We are happy to report This Book is Not Yet Rated is just as charming, quirky, and heartfelt! This Book tells the story of movie buff Ethan Ashby, who finds out his favorite movie theater is getting torn down for luxury condos– friendship, adventure, and hilarity ensue. Recommended for fans of Empire Records and David Arnold books!

Descendant of the Crane by Joan He 9780807515518

Chinese inspired YA fantasy with characters reminiscent of heroes and villains from the fairy tales we’ve loved forever! This book stars Princess Hesina of Yan, who’s on a mission to find her father’s murderer. With incredible world building and unexpected twists, this is sure to fill your craving of a great fantasy thriller– and we’re swooning over that cover!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s